Colombie-Britannique

Mary Buttery, CR

Associée, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP

Mary Buttery, CR est associée dans le Groupe de restructuration et d’insolvabilité à Cassels Brock à Vancouver. Spécialisée dans les domaines de l’insolvabilité commerciale et des litiges complexes et multi parties, Mary représente les institutions financières, débiteurs et créanciers, receveurs et fiduciaires dans des questions liées à la restructuration de la dette, réorganisation d’entreprises, redressement de dettes, actions préférentielles frauduleuses faillite et mises sous séquestre.

Mary conseille régulièrement des clients qui éprouvent des difficultés financières ou dont l’insolvabilité de leurs clients ou fournisseurs affectent leur entreprise. De plus, Mary est une plaideuse expérimentée en litige commercial avec une expertise dans l’exécution de jugements étrangers, recouvrement de créances et fraude. Elle a comparu à tous les niveaux des tribunaux de l’Ontario et de la Colombie-Britannique, à la Cour fédérale, et a été avocate principale à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Mary est reconnue par de nombreux répertoires juridiques dans son domaine et a été professeure adjointe de droit à University of British Columbia où elle a enseigné le droit de l’insolvabilité à des étudiants de deuxième année. Elle a aussi coécrit divers articles sur des sujets dans son domaine de pratique. En 2018, Mary a été nommée conseillère de la reine en Colombie-Britannique.

British Columbia

Mary Buttery Q.C.

Partner, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP

Mary Buttery is a Partner in the Restructuring & Insolvency Group at Cassels Brock in Vancouver. She has gained national recognition for her involvement in countless significant insolvency files and many prominent litigation matters.

Specializing in the area of commercial insolvency and complex, multi-party litigation, Mary represents financial institutions, debtors and creditors, receivers and trustees in matters related to debt restructuring, corporate reorganizations, loan workouts, fraudulent preference actions, bankruptcy and receiverships.

Mary regularly advises clients who are experiencing financial difficulty, or whose customers’ or suppliers’ insolvency affects their business. In addition, Mary is an experienced commercial litigator, with expertise in the enforcement of foreign judgments, debt enforcement and fraud. She has appeared in all levels of the Ontario and British Columbia courts, the Federal Court, and has been lead counsel in the Supreme Court of Canada.

Mary is recognized by numerous legal directories as a leader in her field and has served as an Adjunct Professor of Law at the University of British Columbia, where she taught insolvency law to upper-year students. She has also authored several articles on varied topics in her area of practice. In 2018, Mary was appointed Queen’s Counsel in British Columbia.

Stay up to date

Be the first one to know the latest developments in climate governance in Canada.